Uttar Banga Krishi Viswavidyalaya was established as the second Agricultural University (SAU) in 1st February, 2001 with two Faculties namely Faculty of Agriculture and Faculty of Horticulture possessing of 10 (ten) and 5 (five) academic departments respectively, as its origin as North Bengal campus of Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya in 1979. The introduction of Faculty of Technology at Uttar Banga Krishi Viswavidyalaya in the year 2005 because of the sole effort of Prof. M.K. Majumdar, the then Vice-Chancellor of UBKV, with the approval of All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE), New Delhi and Director of Technical Education, Govt. of West Bengal, Kolkata to offer B. Tech. in Agricultural Engineering is a right step because Agricultural Engineering education integrates engineering and agricultural science to improve production of agricultural and horticultural crops through efficient utilization of natural resources and conserving the same for future use. Considering all this aspects B. Tech. in Agricultural Engineering was established to fulfil the need of the country especially North Bengal.

In the year 2005, the Faculty of Technology started its journey as the third faculty of Uttar Banga Krishi Viswavidyalaya with the approval of All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE), New Delhi and Director of Technical Education, Govt. of West Bengal. The faculty offers four year B. Tech. degree in Agricultural Engineering. The admission of 1st batch of students of B. Tech. in Agricultural Engineering were done by Central Selection Committee, WBJEEB in August 2005 for the academic session 2005-06 from the WBJEE qualifiers. The classes of the 1st batch of students started in September, 2005. The course curriculum of Agricultural Engineering is based on the advances in the relevant field and guidelines framed by ICAR and are approved by AICTE. The U.G. courses of Agricultural Engineering comprises various disciplines like Agricultural Science, Basic Science and Humanities, Computer Science, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Social Sciences, Farm Power and Machinery, Soil and Water Conservation Engineering, Irrigation and Drainage Engineering, and Process and Food Engineering. The proposal has been placed to the Govt. of West Bengal for the formation of the five departments under Faculty of Technology viz. (i) Department of Basic Science & Humanities, (ii) Department of Basic Engineering, (iii) Department of Farm Machinery and Power, (iv) Department of Process and Food Engineering, (v) Department of Soil and Water Conservation Engineering.